Search by Type

Happy new year of the Tiger!

  • Imprimer
  • Send to a friend
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • Pin it

Friday 12 February 2010

In the Asian calendar, 14 February 2010 marks the start of the Year of the Tiger. This event is celebrated widely in several Asian countries, notably China, Singapore and Vietnam.

Bonne année du Tigre !

Air France offers over 50 weekly frequencies to these countries:

  • between 3 and 12 flights to Beijing, Guangzhou, Hong Kong, Shanghai and Singapore as well as Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City via Bangkok. These flights are operated by Boeing 777-300ER, 777-200ER and Airbus 340-300.

KLM also operates 52 frequencies:

  • between 2 and 19 weekly flights to Beijing, Chengdu, Guangzhou, Hong Kong, Shanghai and Singapore by 747 or 777. 
    Some of these flights, such Shanghai and Guangzhou, are operated on a code-share basis with the Chinese airlines China Southern Airlines (member of the SkyTeam alliance) and China Eastern.

The new Premium Voyageur cabin already available to several destinations in Asia

Between Paris and Singapore, Beijing and Hong Kong, Air France is already offering its new Premium Voyageur cabin in addition to the three traditional classes, La Première (First), Affaires (Business) and Voyageur (Economy).
For a very competitive fare, with Premium Voyageur, customers enjoy a private cabin with 40% more space and a 48 cm-wide, fixed-shell seat which reclines 123°. Air France is the first European airline to offer this type of seat in an intermediary cabin, as this type of seat is usually reserved for business cabins.
By the end of 2010, the Premium Voyageur cabin will be available on Air France’s entire long-haul international network served by Boeing 777s, Airbus A340s and A330s.

Services adapted to Asian customers

To meet the specific needs of its Asian customers, Air France offers them a special product both at the airport and on board, such as Asian passenger service agents at Paris-Charles de Gaulle, inflight interpreters and adapted services (meals, newspapers and magazines, TV news, music programmes and videos) on board its flights.

The history of Air France flights to Asia

  • 1933 Air France operated a weekly Marseille-Saigon flight, using 3 aircraft (Cams53, Breguet 284 T, Fokker VII), 1 car and 16 stopovers: Naples-Corfu-Athens-Calstelrosso-Beirut-Damascus-Baghdad-Bouchir-Djask-Karachi-Jodhpur-Allahabad-Calcutta-Akyab-Rangoon-Bangkok. The trip lasted 9.5 days.
  • 1938 Air France extended its weekly France - Indochina service to Hong Kong, with a Dewoitine 338.  On departure from Paris, the trip lasted 7 days and included 18 stopovers including Hanoi.
  • 1946 Air France re-opened its weekly Paris-Saigon route by DC-4 in 67 hours, with 5 stopovers.
  • 1966 Air France inaugurated its Boeing 707 and its weekly Paris-Shanghai route which it had ceased to operate in 1949. At the time it was the only European airline to fly to the People’s Republic of China.
  • 2001 Air France was the first European airline to fly to Guangzhou and to offer 4 destinations in China.
  • 2010 Air France offers more than 50 weekly frequencies to 7 destinations in China, Singapore and Vietnam and together with KLM over 100 frequencies to 8 destinations.

To China, Singapore and Vietnam

  • 51 weekly frequencies and 7 destinations
  • AIR FRANCE KLM, 103 weekly frequencies and 8 destinations
  • 77 years of Air France presence in Asia.


Premium Voyageur cabin

Visit Air France La Saga (history) website

See all news